Anxiety – part 5

Know where your anxiety comes from.

As I explained in my last anxiety posts, it’s good to take the habit of noticing your thoughts and analyzing them rationally.

The best thing to do is to see a professional who can tell you in an objective way, which areas you need to work on, and how to take care of your thoughts.

My therapist saw that a lot of my anxiety comes from a thing called, in French: “interpretation indue”. In English it would probably be something like: “false or improper interpretation”.

This means that in a situation, I will often interpret or over analyse a persons reaction towards me, and most of the time in a negative way.

I have to make sure that I don’t assume things too quickly.

For example, if I am talking to someone, and this person seems to want to cut the conversation short and leave quickly, I would normally think: “I am boring, or awkward, they don’t want to talk to me anymore, they are not interested in our conversation.”

In this case, like I often do, I go way too far in my interpretation.

The only thing I can say for sure is: “this person had to leave this conversation.”

Where my bad habit arrives is when I start thinking it must be MY fault.

Here, my therapists suggests this technique: when I start interpreting:

First,

Ask yourself: is this 100% certain?

And then,

Come up with at least one other explanation. In this case it could be:

– this person had an important meeting and was late.
– this person needed to pee!
– this person was very concerned about something going on in their personal life that distracts them.
Etc.

Do this as often as you can.

Image: Carxusel
Leave a Reply

